50 Movies for 50 States: An Exciting Announcement!

Hello Critical Masses readers!

When I’m not watching movies, I love to eat. And, like with most people, my favorite meal is dessert! If I could eat nothing but delicious sweet, tasty treats for the rest of my life and not become a big ol’ tub o’ lard, I’d be a happy man.

Are you bored with this whole movie thing? I am. So, after much deliberation, I have decided to take a break from my regular column “50 Movies for 50 States” to debut a new column which will focus one of my favorite desserts: sweet, delicious pies. And I will call this column “50 Pies for 50 States.”

Each week, I’ll bring you a new recipe and a new state.

If you want to be surprised by what my new column has in store, don’t read on.

We’ll begin next week with the state of Alaska when I’ll teach you to make Twice Baked Alaska, a rich, creamy creation which features your typical Baked Alaska ice cream dessert inside of a crispy, flaky pie crust.

For Alabama, I’m planning to reveal my recipe for a country-fried concoction I call my Rebel-Rouser Round Top, a mouth-watering deep dish mincemeat marvel that will have even the most hardened Yankee whistling Dixie.

I know what you’re thinking. Alabama comes before Alaska in alphabetical order, but with this new column, I’m not going to be afraid to mix it up – which is why Week 3 will feature a recipe straight outta Amish Country. For Pennsylvania, I’ll be teaching you to make a delicious Dutch apple pie … with a twist M. NIGHT SHYAMALAN style. I’ll give you a hint: it’s cinnamon.

Now, here’s part two of my announcement. When I resume writing 50 Movies for 50 States next year, I’ll be doing nothing but avant-garde silent films for the final ten states. You’re probably saying to yourself: Yeah, right. How are you going to come up with an experimental silent film for the state of South Dakota? Well, guess what. I already have. It’s called Dances With Wolves, but not the Dances With Wolves you’re thinking of, but a 16-minute short shot entirely on Betamax with both dancing AND wolves!

Pies. Avant-garde films. It’s going to be a wild ride. I’ll see you next week.

 

Leave a Reply

