Instant Gratification Quick Takes: July 10, 2011

Highlighting odd and off-beat new releases to watch instantly on Netflix

I’m back.

Where did I go? The short version: My internet connection, which is provided through Xfinity, had been “on the fritz” for the last couple of weeks. By Saturday morning, it had become unusably slow. I decided to move the cable modem to where I could connect it straight to the line coming into my house. Well, rather than fix the problem, when I plugged the modem back in — nothing. I tried everything to get the internet back. I tried a million different cables and splitters. I even attached a new “F” connector to the end of the cable which runs into my house. NOTHING. It was basically like that South Park episode.

But I’m resourceful. Especially when it means the difference between internet and no internet. By Saturday night, I had figured out how to jailbreak my Iphone and tether it to my laptop. In the meantime, I have scheduled an appointment on Tuesday to have Verizon install a fiber optic line at my residence. Despite planning to cancel by Xfinity subscription, I have scheduled to have an Xfinity repairman come out to my house Monday to figure out what the problem is. Or Xfinity scheduled a repairman to come out to my house. I don’t know. They didn’t give me much choice. When I called to complain about the problem, they just sort of told me that they were sending someone out.


New for July 10, 2011

Stuck (2007) directed by Stuart Gordon, with Mena Suvari, Stephen Rea, Russell Hornsby, Rukiya Bernard and Mauricio Hoyos – From Netflix: “Driving home after a night of partying, Brandi (Mena Suvari) accidentally crashes into pedestrian Tom (Stephen Rea), who gets stuck in her car’s windshield. Brandi struggles with whether to help save this man’s life or simply let him die and thereby protect her career. In extreme pain and with little time left to live, Tom pleads for Brandi’s help and tries to find a way to escape from his glass prison in this horrific thriller.”

I remember hearing about this a few years ago when it was making the rounds on the festival circuit, but after the buzz died off, it dropped off my radar. Mena Suvari’s a very underrated actress and Stephen Rea (The Crying Game) is a good actor, so — considering most of the movie will be these two in the driver’s seat — this ought to be good I’m looking forward to checking it out. It’s got a 72 percent “fresh” rating on Rotten Tomatoes too, which makes me wonder why this wasn’t a bigger hit. My only guess is the subject matter was too bleak for mainstream audiences. If I recall, this was inspired by a true story.

Wait one second. This was directed by Suart “Re-Animator” Gordon? Okay, now I’m really intrigued, although admittedly, Gordon’s post-Re-Animator career has been hit-and-miss.

By the way, can anyone tell me what this is about? NSFW, uhm … maybe? (Available until June 30, 2012)


Hey! Follow Matt on Twitter at @CM_MattDunn!

Click here for the Instant Gratification archive.

Click here for the 50 Movies for 50 States archive.

4 responses to “Instant Gratification Quick Takes: July 10, 2011

  1. If they try and charge me, I will launch a formal protest. The problem was with them. The box at the top of the telephone pole that makes the Internet magically appear magically filled with water. That’s their responsibility to fix, unless they want me scaling the telephone pole and messing with their magical Internet box.

    Anna says you’re full of shit. Or maybe you’re just fucking with me. Jerk. Anna also says I’m putting a lot of thought into this response.

    I got basic cable out of the deal too! Oops. I wasn’t supposed to tell anyone that. Hope it doesn’t turn into a Cable Guy situation.

    Like

  2. haha! well they (er, comcast) gave me a bum modem and came out to check it and then charged me for the visit. i did protest and got away with not paying it. you’re probably fine, but those cable providers…

    stuck eh? is that what this was about?

    Like

Leave a Reply

