Instant Gratification Quick Takes: July 25, 2011

Highlighting odd and off-beat new releases to watch instantly on Netflix


New for July 25, 2011

The Adventures of Buckaroo Banzai Across the 8th Dimension (1984), directed by W.D. Richter, with Christopher Lloyd, Ellen Barkin, Jeff Goldblum, John Lithgow, Lewis Smith, Peter Weller and Ronald Lacey – Ya ya ya. “I see you, Mr. Movie Guy. You sit there in your fancy Ichi the Killer t-shirt and $19 Target-brand shorts talking all big about cult movies and yet, you’ve never seen The Adventures of Buckaroo Banzai Across the 8th Dimension. What a joke!” Well, you want to know something? I’m 30-something-years-old. I’d never seen the original Terminator until two days ago. But I make no apologies. First and foremost, I’m not a big Sci-Fi fan. When I was a kid playing with Legos, I’d always choose the “Castle”-themed sets over the “Space” sets. I preferred Willow to Star Wars — I’ve since seen the error of my ways, but nonetheless … every film guy has a few movies that every0ne else has seen but them. I’m not saying that everyone has seen The Adventures of Buckaroo Banzai, but I know there’s a handful of you who might find it preposterous that I have not and yet, profess to be some sort of intellectual superior when it comes to off-beat cinema. Ya ya ya. Fuck you. So, I hear this movie’s pretty good… Sorry. I’m grouchy, I’m still in Utah. I’m ready to go back to Delaware. (Available until September 18, 2011)


The Resident (2011), directed by Antti J. Jokkinen, with Hilary Swank, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Christopher Lee, Lee Pace, Michael Massee, Aunjanue Ellis, Penny Balfour, Kisha Sierra, Peggy Miley and Michael Showers – I’ve really had nothing but good experiences with landlords throughout the years. Not Hilary Swank, who plays a young M.D. in this British thriller. Interesting choice for an Academy-Award winner, but it could be fun. However, I’m probably going to be too busy watching Buckaroo Banzai. (Available until July 19, 2012)


The Crow: Salvation (2000), directed by Bharat Nalluri, with Kirsten Dunst, Eric Mabius, Fred Ward, Jodi Lyn O’Keefe, William Atherton, K.C. Clyde, Bruce McCarthy and Debbie Fan – How many of these crappy movies did they make? (The answer: four) A few interesting things here. Nalluri, who directed this straight-to-video Crow sequel, was also the director of 2008’s Miss Pettigrew Lives For A Day with Amy Adams. It was originally to be written and directed by Rob Zombie. He left due to creative differences. Imagine that. Zombie went on to do House of 1,000 Corpse, released in 2003. Kirsten Dunst was doing four or five movies a year at this point. Also released in 2000 and starring Dunst, Bring it On. (Available until December 31, 2011)


Hey! Follow Matt on Twitter at @CM_MattDunn!

Click here for the Instant Gratification archive.

Click here for the 50 Movies for 50 States archive.

One response to “Instant Gratification Quick Takes: July 25, 2011

Leave a Reply

