On Shuffle: Foot Village – "The End of the World" [video]

FootVillage-1374


So we’re still here, right? Good.

The world didn’t end on December 21, 2012, like those blasted Mayans would’ve had us believe. You know, I betcha they’re still around, hiding in the Mexican wilderness, having a big ol’ laugh at us modern folk. Because what better way to freak us out than by plotting a grand hoax hundreds of years in the past? Right? That makes some kind of Fringe-science-y sense, especially if the Mayans have a time machine. Do the Mayans have time machines? Anybody know?

Foot Village is laughing too, because they wrote this song waaay before 12/21/12, and they were confident back then, in their lyrics, that the world wasn’t going to end. That didn’t stop them, though, from envisioning their little Los Angeles–based circle as Mad Max–inspired masked near-futuristic, post-apocalyptic gladiators. To borrow from Fringe again (and may it rest in peace, I miss it so), they’ve created an alternate timeline where the Mayans prediction did come true, and it’s all gone to shit. Or, if not that, then they’re playing the weirdest game of make-believe we’re liable to see, and they’re probably going to be cited by law enforcement if they keep fighting and burning their drum kits in abandoned lots.

Anyhow, in the video for “The End of the World,” the gladiators are brilliantly ready to mêlée with drumsticks and Zildjian splash cymbals instead of swords and shields. This is my favorite thing about the video – they’re shirtless and masked, and there is nothing I’d like to see more than this kind of impressionistic fighting style, played out in urban wastelands. Actually, I wonder how the Drumstick Champion would fare on Game of Thrones. Probably not well, but I can dream, can’t I?

This tune is the precursor for Make Memories, Foot Village’s forthcoming album through Northern Spy Records that you can preorder here prior to its March 19 release. I can’t wait. I’m not used to an FV slow burn, but that’s just what “The End of the World” does – requires your patience as it brilliantly unfolds.

Is this the best thing Foot Village has ever done? Yes. No. I don’t know. I’m usually rallied to a fit of whirling with the band’s rhythmic onslaught, out of my chair, but here I’m mesmerized, staring at the screen, wondering whether the gladiator-drummers are gonna wail on each other or what. And the long shot of the burning snare and masked drummer wielding flaming sticks – I couldn’t turn my eyes away.

For a band that’s consistently doing things you wouldn’t expect, this is just another drop in the bucket. I cannot wait for Make Memories, whether it sounds more like this or not. I don’t care. I’m trusting FV to kick my ass sneakily or overtly. It’s only a matter of time.

P.S. If you want to hear the album now, call this number: (951) 262-2552. Seriously.



Leave a Reply

