The Critical Masses Podcast – Episode 003: Moonrise Kingdom / Man Man – Life Fantastic

criticalmassespodcast

The Critical Masses Podcast logo by John Newcomer (Twitter: @thejohnisjohn)


Episode 003 – Moonrise Kingdom / Man Man – Life Fantastic

[powerpress]


I [Ryan] am an insane Wes Anderson apologist, and I don’t even care. He can do the same thing over and over for the rest of his career, and I’d probably only be partially annoyed after a while, and even then, that would be a pretty long while. He gets some critical flak, sure, for his stylized features, and he has quite a few signature moves that are pretty obvious to anyone who’s familiar with his oeuvre. But to some, those, shall we say, quirks are endearing and welcome, and the true fans will always enjoy.

Still, and to spoil the podcast just a little bit (my reaction, anyway), Moonrise Kingdom didn’t strike me quite as much as personal (and critical) faves Rushmore or The Royal Tenenbaums, or even The Life Aquatic or The Darjeeling Limited. (I hold The Fantastic Mr. Fox somewhat separate from these for obvious reasons, but it’s also a wonderful film.) Maybe I need to see it a few more times, but right now it, and Bottle Rocket, are at the bottom of the list. But hey, let’s face it – this is only faintly damning, because that list is pretty awesome, and the bottom of it is merely “good.” So take that all with a grain of salt.

Oh yeah, we listened to Man Man’s Life Fantastic (no relation to The Life Aquatic, I don’t think) as well. It’s so good. I’m going to quote “Pirhanas Club” and leave you with that: “If you gotta smash some plates to relax, I say do it.” OK, then, I will. While listening to this podcast.

moonrise


Leave a Reply

