On Shuffle: Libel – "This Is Love" [video]

libel


http://bandcamp.com/EmbeddedPlayer/album=2292509129/size=medium/bgcol=ffffff/linkcol=0687f5/transparent=true/

If I say anything negatively untrue about Libel, I’m sure they have the legal wherewithal to call me out on it, prosecute me to the fullest extent they can, and figuratively shove my face into the gears of the American system. I would be lying if I said I wasn’t afraid of that. So I won’t go overboard with the accusations. I may resort to slander, but that’s a totally different thing. Right guys?

I kid! Libel’s a snaky indie rock act from Brooklyn, heavy on guitars, and they do it juuuust right. They’ve been around for a bit, having released a handful of EPs over the past couple years (all of which you can snag for free at their Bandcamp page), and their description there pretty much sums it up: A “power trio with a weakness for epic.” They’ve chosen to use the adjective “epic” as a noun, because, when you’re dealing with truly epic epic, you just have to. You understand.

They’ve played with friends and fellow Brooklynites Passenger Peru (who I’ve reviewed on this site), so they’re immediately in my good graces. My RIYL at the bottom will include them, as well as Sunny Day Real Estate and Shudder to Think. Hence the whole “epic epic” thing above – I’d say those bands are all pretty epic epic. (Adjective, not noun. I can’t pull that off.)

And with that, I give you a video of a man walking down the stairs.


Libel: This Is Love from Libel on Vimeo.


OK, it’s not that bad. Guy walks down stairs in obvious urban building. It’s a little grimy. If you’re into that sort of thing, it was filmed by Italian director Danielle Babbo. I guess I just don’t watch many videos these days. I watched MTV in the 1980s and early ’90s.

But you’re not here solely for the video – and I’m here to talk about the song, the real selling point. An advance track off of Libel’s forthcoming Music for Car Commercials album (which will hopefully be out in August, fingers crossed), “This Is Love” pulls absolutely zero punches with that chorus. That’s where you hear the Shudder to Think influence – the huge guitars, the heroic chords, the soaring vocals, all perfectly put together for maximum impact. In a word? Epic. And the sliding guitar notes on the verses are a perfect counterpoint, a dramatic build-up to the explosive catharsis. Fine work, Libel, fine work. Can’t wait for the album.

And – I’d watch that car commercial. On YouTube. Yep, I’d search for it if this song was in it.

OK, maybe I wouldn’t go that far, but I’d listen to your album.

RIYL: Passenger Peru, Shudder to Think, Sunny Day Real Estate


Leave a Reply

