Some Records I Liked This Year: 2015

hot dog cat470

I just wanna say, it’s been really great, you guys, to hang out here every week and write for you. You’ve been the best. Now, on the cusp of closing out 2015, I’ve decided to open my champagne a few weeks early and ring in the new year at the stroke of 8:23pm. See, this year’s been a super great one for music. I’m just in love with it, and I’ve loved so many records this year. I also wrote a bunch of stuff for Cassette Gods, my first year over there, opening up a whole new world of possibilities for my growth of musical knowledge. And, crazily, this is the fifth year Critical Masses has been on the air! I mean on the Internet. I wish I had a radio tower. Then I wouldn’t have to drink all this champagne alone, which I’ve mostly done at this point. Did you ever see Pump Up the Volume? I did. Not for a while though. Was there a radio tower in it? I can’t remember. Anyway, I’ve listed a bunch of music here, in no qualitative order except via the alphabet, and linked to my reviews if applicable, and maybe elsewhere if not, depending on my mood. I’m slurring my speech a little bit, so I hope the links go to the right place. Anyway again, happy December 21, and let me just say again how cool you guys are and how much I treasure our friendship and how I’m totally going to call you tomorrow. You’re so sweet. *Clumsily caresses the computer screen pretending it’s the face of another human being because I’m so drunk right now*

*Passes out. Snooooooooore……*

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

01100001 S.T.A.R.D.U.S.T. Subsidiary – Arcadia Campus: Virtual Tour (self-released)

Adderall Canyonly – Beneath the Crystal Canyon a Spark Remains (Moss Archive)

Adderall Canyonly / Yves Malone – Split (905 Tapes)

Aphex Twin – Computer Controlled Acoustic Instruments Pt 2 (Warp)

aphex twin

Atoms and Void – And Nothing Else (digital, self-released, 2014; vinyl, Arctic Rodeo, 2015)

Beach Slang – The Things We Do to Find People Who Like Us (Polyvinyl)

Black Zone Myth Chant – Mane Thecel Phares (Editions Gravats)

Braeyden Jae – Turnings (Inner Islands)

John Carpenter – Lost Themes (Sacred Bones)

Deafheaven – New Bermuda (Anti-)

Paul de Jong – IF (Temporary Residence)

Faith No More – Sol Invictus (Ipecac / Reclamation)

Benjamin Finger – Pleasurably Lost (Eilean Recs.) / Amorosa Sensitiva (Blue Tapes and X-Ray Records) / Motion Reverse (Shimmering Moods)

Dan Friel – Life (Thrill Jockey)

Giant Claw – Deep Thoughts (Orange Milk Records)

Rachel Grimes – The Clearing (Temporary Residence)

Harmonia – Complete Works (Grönland)

Ali Helnwein – Voyage (Spring Break Tapes)

Patrick Higgins – Bachanalia (Telegraph Harp)

Indian Jewelry – Doing Easy (Studded Left / Reverbnation Appreciation Society)

i.o – Collection One (Entertainment Systems)

Juju – Echo de Gradient (Hylé Tapes)

Ki Oni – Elephas (Inner Islands)

Liturgy – The Ark Work (Thrill Jockey)

Mark Mcguire – Beyond Belief (Dead Oceans)

The Petrified Heart of an Air Whale – Red Orkan’s Club (Hylé Tapes)

Derek Piotr – Bahar (Bit-Phalanx)

Power Pill Fist – Werebeard (I, Absentee)

Sam Prekop – The Republic (Thrill Jockey)

Aria Rostami – Sibbe (Audiobulb)

Shilpa Ray – Last Year’s Savage (Northern Spy)

Tal National – Zoy Zoy (FatCat)

Underwater Escape from a Black Hole / Petrified Heart of an Air Whale – Split (Adhesive Sounds)

Various Artists – Dialog Tapes (Dauw/Eilean Rec.)

Zs – Xe (Northern Spy)

See you next year!

One response to “Some Records I Liked This Year: 2015

Leave a Reply

